DIY Sharpie Mug

The myth is real, these mugs are great, easy, dishwasher safe, and totally addicting! I currently have 12 made up mugs sitting in a box, and even with the amount of coffee I drink I don’t think I need 12 mugs… I’m thinking hello gifts!

I didn’t take pictures of the process but it’s super super simple. First things first, regular sharpies DO NOT WORK in the dishwasher. If you’re going to do this, go invest in Oil Based Sharpies. I bought a pack of 5 colors at Staples for $15. The mug was from the Dollar Store, love a good $1 deal! Side note, what I’ve learned from my research is actually the cheaper the mug the better. The coating on the cheaper mugs is well… cheaper, which will allow the sharpie to set better.

Found them here on Amazon for $12.61.

Start by washing your mug, let it complelely dry. Add you’re design! I saw a workout shirt with the Super-Cali-Swagilistic-Sexy-Hella-Dopeness on it and pinned it knowing it would end up on SOME craft of mine, just not sure which one!

Once the mug is drawn on, let it sit for 24 hours to let the sharpie set.  24 hours later, it’s time to bake. Put it in the oven BEFORE turning it on, no preheating. Set the oven to 425 and bake for 30 minutes. Once they’re done turn the oven off but DON’T REMOVE THE MUG(S)! If you take them out while they’re hot they might crack.

That’s it! Voila! Mine has gone through the dishwasher at least 5 times now, and it’s still completely in tact. I would still suggest just hand washing but… I’m lazy.

Here’s my box of finished mugs, my boyfriend thinks I’m crazy…

Posted in: DIY | Tagged:

Leave a Reply

