DIY Starbucks Protein Box

Theirs: $6.00 / Mine: $2.07 (AND much healthier!)

When I was working closer to a Starbucks (my wallet is happy I don’t anymore) I would always get their protein box. I felt like it was the perfect fill me up and energy boost.

As great as it was however, I cringed every time I spent $6 on a hard boiled egg. On top of that, in the way way way back on my mind I knew the fact that they sat in that little cooler for who knows how long and who knows where they came from and when they were packaged that they

must be full of preservatives… but I mean the way way back.

So in efforts to make it a little cheaper, and a little healthier, and since it’s not around me anymore, I decided to make my own!

Here is what I put in mine:

1 Hard Boiled Egg – $0.24 ($2.99/12)

1/2 English Muffin – $0.18 ($1.50/6 pack into halves)

Handfull of Grapes – $0.60 (2.99lb/5 servings)

3 Slices of Cheese – I hought Stop and Shop Extra Sharp (2oz) – $0.25 ($2.99/12 Servings)

1 Apple – $0.55 ($4.99/bag of 9)

2 TBS of PB2 – $0.25 – ($8.09/32 servings)

Total: $2.07!

Side note – if you have not tried PB2 you’re seriously missing out!

It starts in a powder form and you just add water… I swear, it tastes exactly the same. It has 85% less fat calories than traditional peanut butter, also no additives and it’s all natural. So for 45 calories a serving my love of peanut everything can live on!!!! My local grocery store carries it but I definitely know it’s not everywhere – you can buy it from Amazon here (I am not endorsed by PB2 – I just flippin’ love it).

 

 

Leave a Reply

