The Mason Jar Salad

Mason Jar Salad

I talk a big game, but at the end of the day it’s SUPER hard for me to stay committed to a good diet. I might eat egg whites and fruit for breakfast but by lunch all I want is mayonnaise with a little bit of bread and meat. So, I’m making June my bitch.

Food. Food, food, food. My enemy, my best friend, my lover, my everything. I don’t have a sweet tooth, I have an everything tooth. I like salad as much as I like cake – see my problem? You know who else is a giant ass-hat? Sundays. On Monday you tell yourself, “I’m going to get all of my shopping and cleaning done Sunday.” And then Sunday comes and there’s a great HGTV marathon on and well… need I say more?

So this Sunday, I set my DVR on HGTV so I wouldn’t miss anything, and got my ass in gear. I went with a plan, mason jar salads. We’ve all seen these 100 times right? In fact, I’ve made them before and they kept me really successful with my eating, why I didn’t keep it up I’ll never know… lets chalk it up to laziness, duh.

The concept is really simple and even more efficient, this little diagram shows you the rules of the salad totem pole.

Photo not mine

So the basic idea is, dressing at the bottom, heavier stuff next, then the rest of your veggies, then your leafy stuff.

THEN, I found this – yes please!!!

HoneyDijon

What you see in my jar:

  • Skinny Girl Honey Dijon
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Mushrooms
  • Bean Sprouts
  • Alfalfa Sprouts
  • Sunflower Seeds
  • Kale

So yes, I’m pretty pleased. At the very least, I’ll be successful this week. Now next Sunday is a whole new story.

2 thoughts on “The Mason Jar Salad

Leave a Reply

