Cauliflower Fried Rice

Cauliflower fried rice

This is so good, my only regret is I only have one stomach to fill. Cauliflower fried rice will have you saying bye-bye rangoons and helloooo skinny waist, without giving up the goodness. The rice so nice, you wont think twice.

Here are the simple facts about this dish:

  • Simple – √
  • Healthy – √
  • Vegetarian – √
  • Paleo – √
  • Delicious – DOUBLE CHECK! √√√√

UPDATE 8/29/16: When this was originally written I was not eating a vegan diet. This meal will be just as delicious and easy leaving out the eggs/egg whites – No substitution needed. 

So the story goes; my boyfriend ordered chinese food. I don’t mean he ordered some orange chicken and that was it – he ordered orange chicken, a pu pu platter for two… for one, fried rice, crab rangoons, AND a spicy tuna roll. He would have shared (although he would have ordered that much food regardless) but what did I do you ask? Ate a salad. A plain, boring, bland, crappy salad. Then, for days chinese food sat in our fridge and the delicious smell of terrible food filled our house. Torture much?

As the story normally goes – I got desperate. I had two options, the fridge was empty so I could either: A. Go to the grocery store and make something or B. Cave and eat the chinese food. See, this ALL goes back to the prepping I was talking about in the Mason Jar blog. No prepped food = bad choices.

I did the bad thing, and it was SO good. I had the most delicious crab rangoon I have ever had in my ENTIRE life… honestly it was probably terrible but that’s what happens when you deprive yourself right? I wish it was that way with fitness; you deprive yourself too long and it becomes the ultimate satisfaction. Anyways, I digress…

Thankfully, otherwise I would have completely given in – all he had left were spareribs. I usually love ribs, but there’s something about weird rectangles of way-too-red “meat” drenched in an also way-too-red sauce that’s just a turn off for me, call me crazy.

Anyways, I think I made this story long enough right? “GIVE ME THE RECIPE!” I did my normal thing and off to Pinterest I went!

Cauliflower is the new black. It’s so hip, it’s so trendy, it’s so fresh. I wish I was cauliflower. The ultimate chameleon, it can be made into almost anything. Including fried rice.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 1/2 Bag of frozen peas and carrots
  • 1 Yellow Onion
  • 2 eggs (I used egg whites)
  • 2 Cloves garlic
  • 2 TBS Low sodium Soy Sauce or 1 TBS Liquid Aminos
  • Coconut Oil – or olive oil, or spray, or whatever you have

Directions:

In a food processor or with a cheese grater, chop that cauliflower up really fine. When it literally looks like rice, you know you did a good job. Put that goodness to the side.

Go ahead and fry/scramble up your eggs or egg whites. Good, now put that to the side.

Add a little coconut oil (or whatever you chose) to your pan and saute your peas, carrots and onions. When those are done, go ahead and add the grated cauliflower to the same pan (veggies still in). Mix it around and cover until it’s tender, stirring occasionally. I had it on a medium/high and this part took about 10 min.

When that’s done remove it from the heat and add in your scrambled eggs and stir it all together. Lastly, add in your soy sauce or liquid animos, mix that bad boy up and BOOM – cauliflower fried rice.

Some people may beg to differ, but I think it tasted EXACTLY the same… well maybe not exactly but it was pretty damn close. The BF even ate some, and he never eats my cooking. Worst case scenario, you eat the whole thing – you’re really only eating a head of cauliflower and some eggs.

4 thoughts on “Cauliflower Fried Rice

Leave a Reply

