Spaghetti Squash Burrito Bowl

Spaghetti Squash Burrito Bowl

Oh my lucky stars! Jiminy Cricket straight up came down from his window sill and granted my wish upon a star – a burrito on a diet! Anything my heart desires really does come true!!! Okay, next, I desire a yacht – yours truly and waiting patiently, Meira.

Seriously though, this is bomb. I eat – like a lot. I say it’s because I have an active lifestyle, but really it’s just because I love food. My brain and that “you’re full” thought have actually never met before… I’ve tried to introduce them many times before, no luck. The struggle is real. My point is, 1/2 a spaghetti squash and I was FULL, like barely finished the half kind of full… but of course I finished, because duh.

So when I came across this beauty on Pinterest, I called my local Mexican takeout restaurant and broke up with them and hit the grocery store. After a couple alterations, some from experience and some from laziness, this masterpiece graced my mouth… and it was oh-so-good.

What-chu need:

  • 1 spaghetti squash – I reached for the biggest one I saw because remember, fat kid.
  • 1 tbs coconut oil (or whatever kind of oil fancies you)
  • 1 can of black beans
  •  i can refried beans
  • 1 jar of salsa (I used a yummy mango salsa, but it’s all preference)
  • 1 can corn kernels
  • 2 jalapenos
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese (I used the mexican blend)
  • Anything else your little heart desires

Directions:

Pre heat the oven to 375°

I learned a trick! Best trick, best trick, over here! So spaghetti squash is cauliflowers biggest competition. I mean common, a vegetable that doesn’t require a fancy Spiralizer that can replace pasta, carb filled, calorie killer, delicious pasta? And spaghetti squash recipes are all over the internet right now. So here it is. Patience is a virtue. Have you ever tried cutting one of those suckers? Who needs a gym when you’re trying to half a squash! Put that sucker in the microwave for 5 minutes – that’s right, plop it in whole, nuke the thing for 5 minutes, now try cutting – butter!

So, cut it in half and place it face down (so the center is down on the pan) on a coconut greased cookie sheet – it doesn’t hurt to rub a little oil on the inside of the squash too. Please don’t forget to wash it and all that, common sense people.

Roast in the over for 35 minutes. You’ll know if it’s done if you can “shred” the inside with a fork to make it appear like spaghetti. Throw it back in if it’s not done – but 35-40 minutes should do it. Then scrape and scoop out all that delicious spaghetti squash and place in a bowl to the side.

Rewind to the 35 minutes – so while you’re roasting, you can prep your other stuff. Drain and rinse the beans and corn. Chop up your jalapenos. Cut up any other veggies you wish to throw in there. I was surprised but there wasn’t much extra room, so be sparing! I mixed together my refried beans and salsa to make a blend of… well it didn’t look pretty, but it tasted good.

So now all your shiz is prepped, your squash is squashed – now we layer. There’s no science, just pile that stuff on in. You’ll most likely have a little bit of spaghetti squash left over. Once it’s all piled in, sprinkle the top with cheese and broil it for 5 minutes! Eat.

Let me know if you make it and share your pictures with me!

The original recipe came from here!

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash Burrito Bowl

Leave a Reply

