Eggs and Sweet Potato Hash with Avocado Creme

Eggs and sweet Potato Hash I think I’m still smiling today from yesterdays meal. No, seriously. This deserved a giant hallelujah from my mouth. Let the bellies rejoice in song!

This dish was simple enough for me, but the chefs reading my blog… because I’m pretty sure Gordon Ramsey is my biggest fan… will be able to create something really elegant with this.

Their pictures will probably come out prettier than mine too. I know the weird green goo looks funny but for the love of avocado keep reading – I swear it’s delicious! This recipe… if you even want to call it that, was a combination of things I do often, put together in one big bowl of goodness. About a month ago in my search for recipes with sweet potatoes and eggs… because that was all I had in my fridge… I came across this post, which is very similar yet MUCH fancier than mine. Anywho – that’s where the idea for the avocado creme came from!

What you need:

  • 1-2 Egg(s)
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 2 tbs coconut oil (or substitution)
  • 2 tbs lime juice
  • Spices to taste
  • Sriracha – because everything is better with Sriracha
  • 1 jalepeno – if you dare!

How:

Have you ever cooked a sweet potato in the microwave? It’s so easy. I’m totally not anti microwave whatsoever, if it makes my life easier then I’m all for it! Anyways, I started by taking a damp paper towel and wrapping the sweet potato with it, then microwaving it for about 2.5 minutes just to soften it up. Cut the sweet potato into bit size pieces and in a pan with your 2 tbs of coconut oil let those puppies simmer covered on medium for about 10 minutes, stirring often. Add the spices of your choice – I used black pepper, paprika, and italian seasoning. It varies in time so check back frequently to get the firmness/softness desired.

While those are cooking – we make the creme. In the recipe above she calls for mayo – I always opt out of mayo when possible, my thighs don’t like it. I used one small avocado and 2 tbs of lime juice, and it came out very smooth. Blend those two together and put to the side. Also, chop those jalepenos – if you dare to make it spicy!

Once the sweet potatoes are cooked, separate them in the pan to make almost like a bowl of sweet potato for your egg. Crack the egg(s) in the hole(s). One sweet potato and two eggs is usually my meal – I could eat more, I could eat less, so it’s all up to you. Cover the sweet potatoes and eggs again, cooking on medium for about 5 minutes – until the whites are set but I prefer my yolks runny – it’s all preference.

Carefully, with a spatula try and remove it all together, for prettiness of course. Top with your avocado creme, sriracha and jalepenos! Hallelujah, right?!

One thought on “Eggs and Sweet Potato Hash with Avocado Creme

Leave a Reply

